?

Log in

The Review Corner
 
[Most Recent Entries] [Calendar View] [Friends]

Below are the 20 most recent journal entries recorded in The Review Corner's LiveJournal:

[ << Previous 20 ]
Monday, May 17th, 2010
7:21 pm
[ya_review]
Need a little inspiration?
Need a little inspiration?
The Daily Prompt
The Daily Prompt is a series of blogs on IlanaWrites
for writers who need a little extra inspiration! These unique blogs help writers explore different genre and styles, take on new challenges, and
The site updates daily and you can post a link to your response piece in The Daily Prompt Forum The Daily Prompt Forum
Friday, October 30th, 2009
11:29 am
[ya_review]
Last day of giveaway
HushHush


Today is the LAST DAY to enter the Hush Hush Giveaway!

Winners announced on Halloween!

http://www.ilanawrites.com/giveaways.html
Monday, January 14th, 2008
6:04 pm
[1knighthawk]
Movie: Dragonlance: Dragons of Autumn Twilight:
I would love to say this is an amazing movie...but unfortunately, the animation and artwork is really substandard, especially in light of the graphic novels being published.
The combination of hand-drawn art and CG really leaves a lot to be desired. It reminds me strongly of the blending back when Blue Submarine No. 6 did it. There are times that the Draconians look amazing, others it's a sorry sorry blending. I have to admit, the dragon that guards the discs of Mishakal actually looks pretty good, unfortunately the Dark Queen...not so much.
I love Dragonlance, have loved it ever since I had started reading them back in the 1990's (borrowed Mike's copies when he wasn't looking, along with Azure Bonds, Pool of Radiance, etc.)
The film is graced by the voice talents of Kiefer Sutherland (he played the Earth cop in Armitage III) Phil Lamarr (MadTV fame), and Lucy Lawless (she's Goldmoon...who would have thought?!).
If you are a fan of Dragonlance, I am not going to say avoid this movie, because it's honestly really close to the original novel (as it is only Dragons of Autumn Twilight), but some of the production value, and lack thereof, will be more than disappointing to at least some Dragonlance fans.

You can see more at: http://www.dragonlance-movie.com/
Sunday, November 27th, 2005
1:25 am
[1knighthawk]
Movie: Flight Plan
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0408790/

Directed by: Robert Schwentke

Not a bad film, it's a shame it was up against Red Eye ( http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0421239/ ). Both were fantastic films about flying, and conspiracy, just each took itself in a different direction with it. I recommend seeing both, as the acting in both films is truely fantastic! Jodie Foster is starting to show her age in this film, but as an asset, not a hinderance.

Out of 5 stars, I give this one 3.
1:20 am
[1knighthawk]
Movie: 40 Year Old Virgin
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0405422/

Directed By: Judd Apatow

Not your average comedy. It does lag at times, but the laughs it does provide are pretty good. The ending is rather predictable, but it's another sexual comedy, push come to shove. I recommend that you rent it, but I wouldn't recommend buying it neccessarily.

Steve Carell is pretty good in it, a very different role than the one he has in THE OFFICE (not to be confused with Office Space).

Out of 5 stars, I give it 2.5
1:15 am
[1knighthawk]
Movie: Exorcism of Emily Rose
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0404032/

Directed by: Scott Derrickson

Actually, as far as horror films go, this one was enjoyable though not scary in the least. They did their best to market it as a true horror film, but it comes off more like a cross between an episode of Law & Order and The Exorcist ( http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0070047/ ). It's well filmed, and very interesting. It leaves you a bit unnerved, but considering they tell you the fate of Emily Rose right from the beginning, the conclusion of the movie is no great surprise. I actually recommend this as a great introductory film to people who have either never seen one before, or are unsure if they're going to like them.

The acting was pretty good, and the dialogue really flowed well, masterful writing. Some of the scenes could have been filmed a bit better, to avoid talking head syndrome, but courtroom shots are very hard to keep interesting, camera wise.

Out of 5 stars, I give this film 3.5
1:08 am
[1knighthawk]
Movie: Venom
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0428251/

Directed by: Jim Gillespie

Oh, this was a painful movie, like Manos: The Hands of Fate ( http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0060666/ )sort of painful. About ten minutes into the film, it was simple to see this was going to be another teen-slasher flick, rated R but not for any of the good reasons. Seriously, a complete waste of time, and not in that good way. If you truely have to watch this film, make sure you've got two robot buddies to help you cope with the pain.

I have two parting words for you regarding this movie: DEEP HURTING!

Out of 5 stars, I give this the obligatory 1.
1:00 am
[1knighthawk]
Movie: Corpse Bride
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0121164/

Directed by: Tim Burton & Mike Johnson

Tim Burton tries to duplicate his success with Nightmare Before Christmas in Corpse Bride, unfortunately he manages to fall short, in many ways. The film is shorter than Nightmare Before Christmas, not even 80 minutes long, and even more disjointed. There are obvious skips in the plot and story, mostly to make way for song & dance numbers that really don't help to advance the plot much. Luckily for Corpse Bride, the love story doesn't have the same "tacked on" feeling that was given in Nightmare Before Christmas. The ending of Corpse Bride, however, does give a tacked on feeling, particularly with resolution between Victor's living and dead betrotheds.

I like Tim Burton's style, and I think that if he keeps trying, he'll eventually get this right, unfortunately, he hasn't quite pinned it down yet.

The acting was spectacular however, and the animation of the everything shown was amazing and fluid, much more so than in Nightmare Before Christmas.

Out of 5 stars I give this film a 3.
12:55 am
[1knighthawk]
Movie: The Constant Gardener
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0387131/

Directed by: Fernando Meirelles

This is an interpretation of a novel by John le Carré, and is absolutely fantastic. I can't really talk about the plot because it would give WAY too much away. The use of camera, and the acting are absolutely spectacular! I can't praise this film enough. In a sea of bland, or simply bad dramas and mysteries, this movie really stands out truely as a diamond in the rough. Also, its portrayal of the turmoil in Africa is absolutely astounding!

I recommend that you rent, or buy this film at your earliest convenience! It is a gem to be added to anyone's collection.

Out of 5 stars I give this one the perfect 5.
12:52 am
[1knighthawk]
Movie: Just Like Heaven
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0425123/

Directed by: Mark Waters

Thankfully, this review will be brief. This is another Hollywood generated romantic comedy. There's nothing really new to see here. It's like Ghost and High Spirits had a deformed baby, and this was it! If you've seen one romantic comedy, hell any romantic comedy, you've seen this one too. Take my word for it, this is for your grandmother to see, because even Jon Heder (famed for Napoleon Dynamite) doesn't save this movie for anyone younger than 40.

Guys, if you have to see this movie with a girl, make sure you're getting some action either before or after, or even during, because this movie really is just that bad!

Out of 5 stars, I give this an obligatory 1
12:48 am
[1knighthawk]
Movie: Lord Of War
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0399295/

Directed by: Andrew Niccol

An interesting film about gun running. Over all I think it was a great idea, with some really clever writing, but again Nicolas Cage's lack of emotion brought the whole thing down a few notches. He acts the same in every movie I've ever seen him in, from Birdy, to Con Air, to the remake of Gone in 60 Seconds. He seems out of it half the time, like he doesn't even know what's going on.

Overall, it's worth renting, but I wouldn't recommend buying it.

Oh, the historical milestones really do add to the film, rather than detract.

Out of 5 stars, I give this film 2.5 or 3
12:40 am
[1knighthawk]
Movie: Serenity
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0379786/

Director: Joss Whedon

Ok, this is the movie of Firefly, originally deemed the conclusion, till the rumor mill started talking about several more being discussed.

I thought this movie was fantastic. It helped to close some holes in the original story, but the only big thing about it that I really didn't care for was that they ditched all the old-style firearms for more modern ones. How many times did we see a fully-automatic weapon in the TV series, versus lever-action, revolvers, or pump-action weapons...Vera aside. The movie's use of camera was dead on to the original show's usage. I liked the way they used the same CG as before, and they kept the "no sound in space" detail well and alive (I'd heard they were going to add effects to help appease the masses).

I think my opinion may be skewed consdering I was a fierce fan of the TV series.

Out of five stars, I give this movie 4 or 4.5
Friday, November 25th, 2005
12:43 pm
[1knighthawk]
Music: Prussian Blue
Ok, I'm sure you've heard of them by now, if now, go here:
http://www.prussianblue.net/

Alright, because I'm a fucking masochist, I decided I'd sit down and have a listen to their stuff, try to figure out how blatent their racist messages are. It honestly comes across as more pro-Germany than pro-white. Though they sure have enough war songs. Oh , and as for quality, they sound like out of tune, warbling, high-pitched first graders at a holiday performance. They're out of synch, out of tune, and definitely out of harmony!

So seriously, if you are worried about them getting big, maybe mainstream, I wouldn't fret much. They sound like the rank amateurs they are. If this is the best the white nationalists, and racist motherfuckers can dom I'm not going to worry about them too much anymore.

-K
Tuesday, August 30th, 2005
9:48 am
[et3rnalsunshin3]
Movie reviewers are wanted to join http://movies.matchflick.com

Post your reviews for FREE and be seen by thousands. Matchflick was even recently shown on an episode of the tv show "PARTYGIRL"!!!
Saturday, September 3rd, 2005
12:04 am
[1knighthawk]
(MOVIE) Transporter 2
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0388482/

Directed by: Louis Leterrier

Ok, if you liked the original, please, do yourself a favor and skip this one. The previous movie had a fair degree of believability (the fact they didn't resort to things like CG & Bluescreening helped it a lot), this movie is really lacking in that department. Not only that, but this movie is dominated by bad visual effects that actually detract from the movie (like tracking soundwaves...RETARDED!)
My biggest evidence of how shitty this movie is:
A bomb is placed on the underside of the car, to get it off, Frank (John Statham), drives his car off an impromptu ramp, rolls the car just perfectly enough to get the bomb scraped off by a suspended crane-hook, then promptly explodes..oh, and he lands right-side up.

OVERALL RATING: 1 out of 5
Friday, September 2nd, 2005
11:56 pm
[1knighthawk]
(MOVIE) Four Brothers:
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0430105/

Directed by: John Singleton

Ok, not the greatest movie ever, but not bad I guess. Again, extreme predictability, but what ya gonna do?
The acting done by the actors playing the four brothers wasn't particularly bad. I think over all it was a nice idea, just with mediocre execution.

OVERALL RATING: 2.5 / 5
Wednesday, August 31st, 2005
1:41 am
[1knighthawk]
(MOVIE) Red Eye:
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0421239/

Directed by Wes Craven

Ok, instead of horror, Wes Craven went for suspense this time. All in all, not a bad movie. It's not exactly spectacular, but not bad. The plot is rather particular. Like the ... incident at the hotel, I figured out what would happen there (the case in the beginning was kinda a give away...oh, and hiding it in the fish crate...gimme a break, I've seen it before...like 10 years ago in a Gunsmith Cats anime-episode!)

The ending is really predictable. I was really hoping for a twist, but unfortunately the twist never came.

Over all the effects were pretty good, the acting was REALLY good.

OVERALL RATING: (out of five stars) 3
Friday, August 26th, 2005
11:59 pm
[1knighthawk]
(MOVIE) The Brothers Grimm
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0355295/

Directed by: Terry Gilliam

Ok, this movie was great! I had a great time watching this flick! It's just great, wild and crazy, hilarious fun. I strongly recommend this movie to most people, I think people, even 13 years of age are good for this one.

My only real warning is this: There are some violent scenes involving animals. You've been warned.

-K
Thursday, August 11th, 2005
3:54 pm
[1knighthawk]
(MOVIE) Dukes of Hazzard
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0377818/

Directed by: Jay Chandrasekhar

For those who haven't seen it, or are familiar with the old TV series, this is a basic action-comedy. It's fun, not great, not spectacular, but fun.

Watch out, there are some serious, and glaring continuity errors in this movie. Fair warning has been given.

For me, the big thrill was that they got some of the members of "BROKEN LIZARD" to participate in the movie.

OVERALL RATING: (Out of 5 stars) 2.5
12:18 pm
[1knighthawk]
(MOVIE) Must Love Dogs
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0417001/

Directed by: Gary David Goldberg

Ok, this is another in a long line of John Cusack romatic-comedy movies. This movie is so bland, slow, and unoriginal, I actually bailed out of it early. You can tell everyone is doing their best, but unfortunately the script is so retardedly redundant, you can't help but sigh at it's "run-of-the-mill"-ness.

I will conceed, there are a few funny moments, but unfortunately that doesn't make a movie.

RATING (out of 5 stars) 1.5
[ << Previous 20 ]
About LiveJournal.com